Recipe: Kick-ass Veggie Chili

Veggie Chili is a staple in my house. I first learned to make it in high-school, shortly after becoming a vegetarian. Since then, I have made a million modifications, and I think I have finally found the perfect balance. This isn’t really a recipe, but more of instructions. Use what ever veggies/spices/beans you like or have on hand, that is what I did here. Ideally, I would have loved to add some fresh jalapeños, carrot and zucchini, but it was Super Bowl Sunday and I didn’t want to brave the grocery store! I usually cook this chili on lazy Saturday or Sundays, because it really takes about 20 mins of prep, then you can just let it sit for a while and it is ready to eat when you are.

Some other great recipes to go off are Annie’s Eat’s vegetarian chili, Yesterday on Tuesday’s vegetarian chili, and if you eat meat, check out What’s Gaby Cooking’s Smoke Chipotle Chicken Chili!

So this is what I used….

Basic Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • Onion, red, yellow, or white
  • Peppers, any colors
  • Frozen corn
  • Garlic, I use pre-chopped because no one has time to peel them
  • Spices- Paprika, chili powder, cumin, pepper flakes, and cocoa powder
  • Hot peppers, jalapeños/poblanos or serrano, I use some frozen poblanos that I purred over the summer.
  • A big can of crushed tomatoes
  • A small can of tomato paste
  • A can of diced tomatoes with chilies or plain
  • Beans- I use a can of pinto and a can of black beans, I have used kidney and chickpeas before too

Okay so here is how I do it:

First, wash and chop my peppers and onions…

DSC_0178

Second, I sauté the peppers, onions and garlic in a pan in olive oil until tender…

DSC_0180

Then I add about a teaspoon of each spice into the pan, you can just eyeball it…

DSC_0183

It should look something like this, looks gross I know but I promise it will turn out good!

DSC_0187

Then I add in the tomato paste, canned tomatoes, and hot peppers, and turn the heat on low…

DSC_0194

Then I add my beans to my crock pot, and pour the sautéed mixture over top…

DSC_0198

Let it cook for an hour or two on low, add corn 20 minutes before serving! I sometimes garnish with a dollop of plain greek yogurt (instead of sour cream), some crushed tortilla chips or a squeeze of fresh lime juice. Then enjoy!

Do you have a kick-ass chili recipe too? Or something you love to cook on lazy Sundays?

Yours Truly- M

Published by

Day to Day with M & A

The ramblings of two vibrant twenty-somethings making their way in a small city.

Leave a Reply

