Why I practice Yoga

yogainfographicWEBEDITv2

I stole this amazing graphic from prevention.com

So the other day a friend of mine posted on Facebook asking why she should start doing yoga. She had heard good things about it, and wanted to know why she should give it a try. So it sparked my mind, to share why yoga is such an important part of my routine and identity. I started taking piyo and yoga classes in college, and fell in love. After relocating for my job, I finally found a good routine, and some classes with an instructor I feel comfortable with. For the past 6 months, I have been going to yoga classes once or twice each week at my my gym. I am by no means a professional, or an advanced yogi but I look forward to going to the gym in the evening to roll out my mat and get to work. But why do I love it?

  • It is “me” time. I know that for that hour, there is nothing else that I need to think or worry about. I can focus on myself. It is such a simple thing, but after a long day at work, it is nice to have some time to reflect on yourself.
  • It is great exercise! After a good class I am sore in all of the right places. I can feel that my abs, thighs, and arms are being engaged throughout the class, and I can improve my flexibility which is really important.
  • I feel like I am part of something outside of work and my social circles. It just feels good to be around other people who are as dedicated and passionate about something as you are. No one in my yoga class has any expectations from me, and I don’t have to worry about making them happy. I can be me, and worry about just me. They also give me great inspiration, when I see someone who can really master a tricky pose, it gives me motivation to push myself harder.
  • I can clear my mind. My favorite part of the class is shavasana, otherwise known as the end of the class when you lay on the floor and meditate. It helps me let of any worry or stress from my week.
  • It is refreshing. There is no better feeling than walking out of a great yoga class. I feel replenished, full of energy, and at peace. I am a much happier, purposeful and energetic person when I practice yoga, and I don’t feel right when I miss a class!

So why do you practice yoga? Or why are you afraid to start?

You’rs Truly- M

Published by

Day to Day with M & A

The ramblings of two vibrant twenty-somethings making their way in a small city.

5 thoughts on “Why I practice Yoga”

  1. I just started going to classes once a week at the beginning of this year. As you mentioned, I like the “me” time. I’m a stay at home mom with twin boys – age 11 and a 14 y.o. daughter. I don’t get out of the house much (we only have one car) so it’s a nice break for me. Also, since I don’t get out much, I don’t get any exercise so it’s good to get my blood flowing and my body moving. I’ve been going to gentle yin yoga the past few weeks, and that has been nice to recharge my spirits after a long week of dealing with moody kids. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the inspiration. I’d do yoga before going to bed but now have stopped because I can’t find the time. But this post has brought much motivation 🙂 thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

