Essential oils aren’t just for “hippies”…

Essential oils… they have become all the rage over the past year. But are they worth the time and money to start using them? Personally, I have a few essential oils that have become an integral part of my daily routine. I use them for beauty purposes, as a freshener and cleaner, and for aromatherapy. My basics are lavender, tea tree, and eucalyptus, and I suggest anyone who is trying essential oils for the first time, to start with these three. You can buy them all online, I buy mine from ADK Aromatherapy (and stole this photo from them).

Tea Tree- The first essential oil I ever used! When I was in college my cousin recommended it for an infected nose piercing I had. It cleared it right up, and I fell in love with the stuff. I use it to dab on pimples, add it to homemade room sprays and cleaners. It is really an all purpose oil, and you can find it either online, or at your local grocery store in the natural foods section.

Lavender- I use lavender mostly for aromatherapy. I add it to my bath, put a few drops in a homemade room spray or cleaner, and will rub a little on my wrists after a long day. It really does relax you, so use cautiously.

Eucalyptus- As someone with year-round allergies and chronic sinus infections…eucalyptus is a must. I will add a few drops to a bath, or on the floor of my shower to help clear out my sinuses. I will also rub some on my chest before bed to help keep my nose clear. It is a must-have in my medicine cabinet.

What are some of your go-to essential oils? 

Your’s truly- M

Published by

Day to Day with M & A

The ramblings of two vibrant twenty-somethings making their way in a small city.

3 thoughts on “Essential oils aren’t just for “hippies”…”

  1. Eucalyptus, Clove and peppermint blended with some Epsom salts is absolutely the best for a cold, and makes a great gift (I have a blog on it somewhere, but I’m always misplacing these things) unfortunately I can’t do eucalyptus by it self anymore after going through a hurricane in Hawaii and
    Smelling the torn up trees for two weeks straight lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

